The Purge: Candy Edition (Prepping for The Whole30)

This might be my last post as a sane person. Starting tomorrow my wife, sister-in-law, brother-in-law, and I are going to start The Whole30. If you aren’t familiar with The Whole30, it’s basically a diet plan that’s meant to reset your eating habits. In practical terms, this means that I can’t eat anything I like, except meat and broccoli.

Cleaning out my closet

I’m not the most self-disciplined person, which is why my wife and I have been purging the kitchen of everything good for the last couple days. The victims include the following:

IMG_0165.JPGThis photo includes our rejected Halloween candy, like Banana Laffy Taffy, and an insaneimg_0166 amount of candy canes. I had no idea we had all these candy canes. What are they still doing in my house on January 22? Well, they are gone now.

This next photo was a little more painful. It’s got homemade chocolate cupcakes and individual chocolate candies. Not even creamy frosting can withstand the power of the Candy Purge. It too must go.

Well, that’s it. Goodbye cookies, candy, bread, and dairy. Hello meat, eggs, broccoli and cauliflower. In case you’re wondering, I do have four kids. They are going to be going candy free the next 30 days, but they still get grains and dairy. So, I will have to look those in the eye everyday and reject them. Ugh.

The plan (should I keep my sanity)

I am going to write a blog post everyday (assuming I’m coherent enough to write after two weeks of no cheese and chocolate). If you have any tricks, tips, or thoughts on The Whole30, I’d love to read about them in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

