The Post-Workout Steak (Whole30 Day 2)

Today was gym day. The Whole30 recommends that you eat an extra meal after working out. Not an extra snack. AN EXTRA MEAL. What a great diet! So, what would my post-workout meal be? Would it be some kale chips or a large portobello mushroom? No.

Ten Eggs in 24 Hours

Before I could hit the gym, I needed breakfast. And that meant more eggs. I had eggs number 8, 9, and 10 in 24 hours. This time they were scrambled with salsa. These were much easier to eat than eggs number 6 and 7 from yesterday. Those were the hardboiled eggs I needed a quart of water to get down. (My co-workers were excited to see if I would throw-up). After breakfast, it was time to get to the gym, but I had to choose my post-workout meal. There seemed to be one obvious choice: steak.

The Local Cow

A little backstory on the meat in the Creps house. Every year we buy a whole cow. Don’t worry it’s dead when we buy itIMG_0161.JPG. We split the cow with a few other people. (You may be surprised how much meat comes in a whole cow). Well, last weekend we picked up our new cow. I never knew that I could fit a whole cow in a Toyota Sienna.

In order to make room for the new cow in the freezer, we had to take the last bits of last year’s cow out of the freezer. Once the beef made it into the kitchen freezer, it was fair game. This made the post-workout steak possible.

Learning to Love the Whole30IMG_0188 (1).jpg

I had never been so giddy to be finished at the gym as I was today. After all, I had a steak waiting for me. Since I’m on the Whole30, I had to keep things simple: no barbecue sauces or anything with sugar in it. I thought about some dry rubs, but I didn’t have a lot of time. So, it was just me and the steak.

If you are keeping track, this was my second meal of the day. It was 9:45am! And the meal was steak. I love the WHOLE30.

Everyday I’m writing about my experience with the Whole30. Leave a comment or check back tomorrow for more.

Leave a Reply

