The Bible and Whole30 (Whole 30 Day 7)

Ok, the Bible doesn’t really say anything about a diet that was invented in the 21st century. However, the Bible has a lot to say about food. So, here are a few Bible verses on food to get me through the nebible-1868359_640xt week.

Proverbs 15:17 A bowl of vegetables with someone you love is better than steak with someone you hate.

There’s some good news in this verse. I can eat both these things on the Whole30. In fact, some days I feel like vegetables and steak is the only thing I can eat, and I’m not generally looking to turn down either one. That being said, I would always rather enjoy some veggies with a loved one than take on a steak with an enemy. However, if I only had a bowl of vegetables to eat, I would probably need to work in a fourth meal that day.

Ecclesiastes 9:7 Go, eat your bread with joy, and drink your wine with a merry heart, for God has already approved what you do.

Sadly during the Whole30 I can neither eat bread, nor drink wine. I can eat my shredded cauliflower with joy and my kale chips with joy, but no bread. However, I on day 31 I will be eating bread with overwhelming joy (and a few tears). As for wine, that’s out of the question. So, I will drink water or coffee with joy for the next several weeks.

Proverbs 27:7 A person who is full refuses honey, but even bitter food tastes sweet to the hungry.

I have a couple thoughts on this verse. First, I want to meet this person who refuses honey. After a week of no sugar, I can’t imagine refusing honey. (Well, except for the fact that I’m on the Whole30 and have to reject honey). But when you’re hungry it’s true that even bitter food tastes good. I’ve talked recently about hunger. So, I don’t want to pretend that what I’m experiencing is really hunger. But over the last several days there have been times when I’ve been so hungry that I’ve been able to choke down a few extra eggs. I wouldn’t call them sweet, but they did the trick.

Proverbs 25:27 It’s not good to eat too much honey, and it’s not good to seek honors for yourself.

Finally, here is a verse that we can fully apply on the Whole30. It’s not good to eat too much honey. In fact, it’s not good to have too much of any sweetener, which is why we are on things like the Whole30. But it’s even worse to seek glory for yourself. So, stay humble, eat your vegetables, and say your prayers.

I’m blogging about the Whole30 everyday. Leave a comment and check back tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

