Jesus and the Whole30 (Whole30 Day 11)

Ok, Jesus never said anything about the Whole30 since it was invented a couple thousand years after he left the earth. However, there’s one teaching of Jesus that I’ve been thinking about the last couple days:

Matthew 4:4 But Jesus told him, “No! The Scriptures say, ‘People do not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’”

I guess this verse jumped out at me since I can’t eat any bread right now. It’s a good thing that we don’t just live off of bread or I’d be dead by now.

Of course, Jesus isn’t talking about a paleo diet in this passage. He’s going through his own strict diet, fasting for 40 days in the desert. (I’ve thought about trying some other diets after the Whole30, but the 40 day fast might be a little too much for me).

The Temptation of Jesus

fc3a9lix_joseph_barrias_-_the_temptation_of_christ_by_the_devil_-_google_art_project

In this chapter in the Bible, Jesus is being tempted in the desert by the devil. The devil tells him to turn stones into bread if he really is the son of God. Jesus could do this, but he tells the devil that sometimes their is something greater in life to pursue than food. More than we need food, we need the words, presence and wisdom of God.

Jesus faces other temptations in this chapter, but I find it interesting that the devil starts with food. You would think that food would be an easy temptation to avoid. Why would the devil waste his time? But once you are without food for a little bit, it’s all you can think about.

Hunger and Human Limits

I think there is something powerful about being hungry. It reminds us of how frail we are. It reminds us how our physical bodies could give out at any time, and there isn’t much we could do to stop our downfall. Our hunger reminds us of our limits as humans and our dependency on something greater than ourselves. I can live without food (for awhile at least). But I don’t think I could live one moment without the presence of God.

I’m blogging everyday about my experiences on the Whole30. Check back for more tomorrow, and please leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

