Learning (to love my) Curves

My delightful sister-in-law, Celeste, is writing the blog today. Enjoy…

Before the title leaves you wondering if Scott has officially fallen off the Whole30 deep end…

Hi! I’m Celeste, Scott’s favorite sister-in-law (Scott’s Note: She’s definitely top 3). Scott is entrusting me with his blog for the day, and I thought I would take the opportunity to give you a more (*ahem*) feminine side of W30. Bacon and burgers are great and all, but let’s talk about curves for today.

Why I’m on the Whole30

You read about Scott’s reasons for taking on this W30 crazy. Well, here are mine: We were sitting around the table over Christmas break with wine in hand and chocolates in mouth, throwing around ideas of detoxes and diets we could try in the New Year. (Cliché, I know.) We kept talking diet plans until we got to that point where we said, “Wait, so are we actually doing this?” I was convinced/confident/crazy enough to take the W30 plunge.

Honestly, I’ve known for a while that I needed to do something drastic to improve my relationship with food and my body. W30 fit the criteria.

fullsizerender-7These two pictures were taken exactly two years and eighty pounds apart. (And FYI, I don’t look like either of these pictures today.) Suffice it to say, I’ve had a tumultuous relationship with food for years.

W30 is great because it insists on tfullsizerender-8aking your focus OFF of weight, sizes, and calories. It trains you, without you really realizing it, how to plan and prepare your food without being obsessive. This balance is something I’ve lacked. I exercise regularly. I eat healthy (most of the time). I make far more good choices than I do bad ones when it comes to caring for my body. But caring ABOUT my body without obsessing over it? I have yet to learn what that looks like.

A few learning curves

I suppose it shouldn’t come as a surprise that the process of learning to love my curves has come with some pretty major learning curves itself. I’m amazed by how entwined our physical, emotional, spiritual, and mental health are. These past of couple weeks, I’ve vacillated between feeling physically drained and having a ton of energy. I’ve had a few emotional meltdowns (to put it mildly. Sorry, again, babe). This week I even had an unexpected spiritual encounter with God over all of this.

And as if learning to love and care for my body without obsessing over it hasn’t been enough of a learning curve for the month, we got a puppy.

IMG_8989.JPGA couple days before launching our W30 journey, we picked up our 10 week old (ironically, chocolate) lab. No one warned these first-time-dog-owning suckers that trying to adjust to puppy life was probably not the best time to try adjusting to an entirely new approach to food. Both are all-encompassing. You know what the great thing about it is though? I don’t know who or what to blame the meltdowns on! I can’t complain about W30 when my exhaustion could easily be linked to the 3am puppy potty breaks. And I can’t blame the puppy when my freak outs could be because I’m hangry (Scott’s note: I’m being told this is a word).

But look at this face. Learning curves come with their benefits too. I anticipate the most significant benefit is waiting for us at the finish line. 17 days and counting.

I’m writing about the Whole30 everyday. And I’ll be back tomorrow as the search for the perfect Altoids replacement continues.

Leave a Reply

