Special Days and Special Exceptions (Whole30 Day 14)

 

Today, my wife, Melanie, is filling in for me. 

Hi! I’m Melanie, Scott’s wife and partner on this Whole30 journey (and life’s journey too). I am writing yesterday’s post because… well, if you’ve read anything about the Whole30 yet, you know prep time takes a lot of time. And maybe you haven’t read this part yet but clean-up takes like twice as long as prep. So I actually forgot it was my turn to write the post yesterday because I was busy prepping, cooking, and cleaning through most of the evening. (And then after the Super Bowl we had to finish binge-watching our current Netflix series, so, priorities, right?)

Ok, we’re on Day 14. By now, we are getting the hang of this new routine. It’s still hard, but not nearly as painful. We know what we can have and what we can’t – no need to read every little label. (Just assume you can’t eat it if it has a label.) We are getting used to resisting temptation, and we are finding things that we actually enjoy eating to fill in the meals. (So no more 7-hard-boiled-eggs-because-I’m-starving-but-I-want-to-vomit days). And (hopefully) I am not the world’s worst wife anymore. (Scott’s note: I don’t know what she’s talking about.)Screen Shot 2017-02-06 at 9.31.51 PM.png

Just wait, before we do day 14, jump back with me to Day 13 for a second (Scott’s note: I didn’t know we could time travel on the blog). It was my daughter’s 7th birthday. And first, let me tell you, I am not an over-achieving, crafty mom at all. But I do make special cakes on my kids birthdays. It started when my first-born turned one, and hasn’t stopped. screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-9-32-07-pm(Here is his first birthday cake – well, cupcakes. And they were zucchini honey muffin cupcakes. And that next picture is my daughter’s cake when she turned six, when I pureed the raspberries to make it a pink cake for her without having to use red food dye, FTW.) So what to do for this year’s birthday when I’m not even allowed to have ONE LITTLE LICK OF THE BATTER? I buy a box cake. And canned icing. Now maybe that’s not shocking to everyone reading this, but if you know me, it broke my heart…but made the cake-making process easier to resist. And boring. And lame. (I promised her next year’s cake would be AMAZING.)

screen-shot-2017-02-06-at-9-32-18-pmSo I survived Day 13 without eating cake. Day 14 is next, and it’s just as rough. For people like me, who do not care in the slightest about any sport ball game ever, the Super Bowl is only as good as the snacks on the table. What is a girl on Whole30 supposed to do on Super Bowl Sunday??? Whine. Contemplate cheating. Whine some more. Lay on her bed in protest. Then make some pretty decent, fancy, spicy coconut pineapple pork meatballs that are totally Whole30 approved and eat a dozen of them.

And then spend the next 2 hours cleaning the kitchen while the Patriots come back from a 28 point loss to win the Super Bowl and break the hearts of the Falcons. (Scott’s note: spoiler alert).

I’m writing about the Whole30 everyday. Check back for more tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

