Dealing with the Staff Lunch (Whole30 Day 16)

The first Tuesday of the month our whole staff gathers together. It’s a time to reflect on what everyone has been doing for the last month, celebrate ways that our mission has been accomplished, and pray with one another (if you are confused, it’s a church).

Chick-Fil-A: A love story

After all of that stuff, we eat. There is no set pattern for lunches but they generally have some sort of rotation of the following: Chinese, Pizza, Chick-Fil-A, Burrito bar, repeat. If you are paying attention, you probably noticed that there is nothing Whole30 compliant in that list. So, what was on the menu today? Chick-Fil-A.catering-prices

Years ago I gave my fast food loving heart to In-N-Out (Del Taco was a close second). As I travelled around the country I began to hear whispers of this magical place called Chick-Fil-A. There was fried chicken, waffle fries, and streams of sweet tea. Finally, I got to experience this magical place. And it was just as blissful as everyone said.

My first love will always be In-N-Out, but Chick-Fil-A holds a special place in my life. Although I’ve always felt a little shame about my typical Chick-Fil-A order (3 strips, fries, 2 Polynesian sauces, 2 Chick-Fil-A sauces, and sweet tea), it has always been a joy to eat. Today, I didn’t have much hope in finding anything Whole30 compliant at Chick-Fil-A, and after a quick Google search, my fears were confirmed.459c8c48-df69-4a4b-a419-0165ef0c7e48

No Choices No Problem

My wife and I had to bring our own lunches for the meeting (tuna salad, which was quite good). I wondered what the reaction would be when I pulled out my tuna salad. Would it be jeering and mockery from those too afraid to take on Whole30 themselves? Or, would it be respect and awe over my self-discipline with eating?

It turned out that people didn’t really care about my lunch. As always, I think a lot more about myself than anyone else does. And I guess it’s good that people don’t spend time worrying about my food. There are better things to worry about (like getting the last Chick-Fil-A wrap).

I’m blogging about the Whole30 everyday as long as there is coffee in the world. Where was your favorite restaurant to return to after the Whole30? Please leave a comment and check back tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

