The 30-Day Minimalism Game

The average American household has 300,000 items. What?! Can you believe that you have 300,000 items sitting around your house?

We have six people in our family (2 adults and 4 kids), so I think there is a good chance that we have more than 300,000 items. Geez! I remember when I moved into my first apartment. All my stuff fit in my car with room to spare. Those were simple days. I think it’s time to get back to some of that simplicity.

We have too much stuff

A few weeks ago I stumbled on to The Minimalists podcast. I’ve always liked the idea of less stuff and I was drawn to the podcast immediately.

One of the things that they recommend to get you moving in the minimalist direction is the 30-Day Minimalism Game. For 30 days, you get rid of an increasing amount of stuff everyday. Day one, one thing. Day two, two things, and on it goes.

My wife and I are both going to get rid of items each day with the help of our kids. At the end of the 30 days we will have removed almost 1000 items.

If you want to play to, join us. We will post photos everyday of what we are getting rid of on our Instagram feed (Scott and Melanie) and write about them here. The challenge starts Sunday.

Leave a Reply

